A 57 yr old man from the Wombwell area, who has a diagnosis of Fronto-Temporal Dementia, is in need of a support worker. He has been assessed as lacking capacity to make decisions about his care needs as he is unable to understand, retain, weigh up information and then communicate his views/decision. He currently lives alone with the support of family and carers.

This gentleman used to enjoy cycling and walking. He has enjoyed going to the gym and has a membership at the Metrodome. He enjoys music and playing and has 4 guitars at home. He engages well in all activities and has no difficulties following them. He has no awareness of road safety and so he would be unsafe to go out into the community alone and needs accompanying. Can you support  this gentleman to go out into the community on Saturdays and continue to do the activities he enjoys?

He is a Liverpool FC fan and used to like going to the local pub to watch football and would like to continue to do this where possible. The ideal person would be someone who shares the same hobbies such as football, Liverpool FC, gym & music.

There is no personal care involved as he is able to manage this independently.

The position will require someone who is flexible, motivated, patient, and understanding with a calming nature.

A driver is not essential as this gentleman is able to use public transport with the help of a Support Worker who is confident enough to assist the gentleman to develop his social interaction.

Hours: 5 hours per week (Saturdays)
Pay: £8.21 per hour
The post will include 5.6 weeks annual leave (pro rata)
A DBS check and references will be required.

https://findajob.dwp.gov.uk/details/2028964